IDIC

I just got to watch the Star Trek 50th Anniversary Special that was The History Channel last weekend (I was distracted by my computer crash) and it made me weep. It really did.
Mostly because we as humans don’t seem to aspire to the aspirations of Star Trek anymore and that makes me sad. I have found recently that one of the reasons I am drawn to both Star Trek & Doctor Who is that innate sense of hope that pervades both series. Hope, that I don’t have or see. That inspires.
But especially in the last few years I see not only less of this I see it’s polar opposite – Political Correctness- and that makes me sad. Where we can’t debate or disagree with one another anymore. It’s all “I’m right” and that’s it. Where you get banned for making a point that someone else thinks is potentially “offensive”. But the essence of Free Speech is to be able to offend people. To make them think. To make them question. That’s what Star Trek all the time. They said what was considered ‘radical’ like having a Black Woman as an Officer on the Bridge. To wonder why being Black on one side of your face makes the guy with the black on the other side so different that you hate them. That may have been a bit blunt in it’s metaphor but it had a profound effect on me as a kid.
But I guess that was just my “White Privilege” speaking. After all, it the current thinking that all White people are inherently racists, right?
People who disagree with you are inherently hateful  and disrespectful.
Where pettiness and grievances is all that we have left in common.
That’s not Star Trek.
That’s “Day of The Dove”. 🙂
That’s Orwell.
That’s not Freedom.
It’s not Hope.
It’s not Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations.
It’s just hate. Hate with an Agenda.
And I’m good at hate. Trust me.
It comes from growing up the way I did. Always being excluded. Always being made fun of. Never, ever, being a part of anything.
That’s why I like Star Trek. Why I like Doctor Who. So much more.
It’s so much more. We can be so much more.
But we have to want to be.
That’s why fandom is important to me. It gives me hope.
But I look at “microagressions” and “diversity” and “inclusion” and “hate speech and the Wars of Race, Gender, Class, and so on and I don’t have that hope.
Hope is fantastic thing. I don’t think we have much of it anymore and I don’t think man”y people want us to have it.
That’s the sad part.

Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.”–Albert Einstein

But we have stopped, haven’t we. Because we don’t to be a (insert demeaning label here) or we don’t want to hear what the other person says because it doesn’t “respect” our views. Meanwhile, we don’t “respect” there’s anyhow.

“Hope is being able to see that there is light despite all of the darkness.” Desmond Tutu

“We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

“Let your hopes, not your hurts, shape your future.” Robert H. Schuller

it’s statistically unlikely that I will see Doctor Who or Star Trek’s 100th Anniversary in 2063 and 2066 respectively but I can still Hope, can’t I? 🙂

gene-roddenberry

Leave a Reply

